Strange wallaby killing - head ripped off

This board is open for discussion on the Australian Yowie, Bigfoot, Yeti & Sasquatch. Please keep on topic in this forum.
millstoneridge

Strange wallaby killing - head ripped off

Unread post by millstoneridge » Sat Jan 02, 2016 10:09 pm

We have had strange experiences for several months culminating, we thought, in the disappearance of our two german shepherds. I work as an RN and early one morning driving home from a night shift I found a wallaby on the dam crossing below our house with it's head pulled off and one arm ripped off, not the sign of a traditional dog attack, given that we have a Maremma and have had no wild dog attacks in years it was strange. There were no bite marks or any signs of a dog attack on the carcass. I was dead tired after my night shift so hubby removed carcass off drive, when he later took camera to photograph carcass it was gone (most likely taken by a wedgetail eagle).

Does anyone know what would do this?? The carcass was about 50 metres from one sighting my husband saw at night, which was in direct line of view of the house. We are again having issues with our Maremma barking aggressively in this area now again most nights, and our new border collie often joins in.

Suggestions? We have had quiet nights until recerntly, as hubby had fired off shotgun and scared whatever it is away for weeks.

Mad Academic
Silver Status

Re: Strange wallaby killing - head ripped off

Unread post by Mad Academic » Sun Jan 03, 2016 7:58 pm

It really depends on what your motives/aims/goals are. If you aim to be rid of whatever is visiting, then keep on firing the shotgun. But be aware you could injure something and also miss a great opportunity.

If you want to identify the creature responsible then you could try putting out food gifts (inaccessible to other species) and, later, if food is accepted, try a camera to record what is taking it.

FWIW

MA

macquariedave